Rock, Paper, Scissors – You win! Create your own Vision Rocks!

vision rocks

It’s 2012, and it feels like the first day of school again. I am feeling a bit reflective, and I needed a craft to express that. I have found myself in my crafty home office alone for the first time it seems in almost 3 weeks. My tween is back at school, the hubby is off on a business trip, and the houseguests have all gone home.

I didn’t make any New Year’s resolutions, but I have been making a list of goals for 2012 – scary, exciting, mind-blowing if they come true goals. I have created many vision boards with my tween, and of course they always look very different with our individual “visions”, but the experience has always been the same – fun, messy, inspiring, and fulfilling.

You may remember that I love to craft with rocks, and this time I thought, what better canvas than a rock for my vision board. Thus operation vision rocks was born!

Set up is simple: grab a pile of your favorite magazines, scissors, and some Mod Podge® (Elmer’s glue will also work in a pinch – just water it down a little). You can create your own vision boards on posterboard, but for this project, grab some river rocks. The smooth shaped rocks are the perfect size to hold in your hand and keep on your desk for a lovely paperweight. Once complete, you can literally hold your dreams in the palm of your hand.

So I grabbed my morning cup of coffee, a variety of magazines ranging from O, Martha Stewart Living, and even the Ikea catalog, turned on some tunes, and just started cutting and collecting words and phrases that reflected what I wanted 2012 to be. Of course, once I started, I couldn’t stop!

When applying your words or pictures to your rocks, first coat one side of the rock with a layer of Mod Podge, then apply your design and coat again over the top to seal. Let one side dry and continue to apply your designs on the back, or simply seal the rest of the rock with Mod Podge to a uniform look.