8 No-Joke Time-Saver Tricks and Feel Better Remedies

Now that my daughter is 10 and becoming more and more independent each day – I found myself reflecting on what family tricks I have passed on to her through the years. Lately, I feel like she has been teaching me more than I am teaching her. So, before she reminds me of that fact, I am journaling these time-savers and remedies as a handy reference. Our twin boys are only three- but they will be experiencing these tips through the years, too. I am not a doctor nor a chef- but cannot keep these ‘family secrets’ from you, our fabulous followers. My daughter and I had a lot of laughs compiling this list – but the tips themselves provide ‘no-joke’ results.

1. Berry Preparation

My girl is a berry maniac. She eats berries at least 3 times a day (usually with yogurt). Berries are best rinsed and prepared just prior to eating to maximize the freshness – but that is not realistic in our house. My crafty sister Pauline already shared my weekly time-saving lunch prep, which includes berries, in a previous post. I prep an entire week’s worth of berries on Sunday and the berries still stay fresh for the whole week. My amendment to that post for an even more efficient prep cycle is to use a salad spinner to wash and dry the berries. The inner liner works as a colander and the spin-cycle helps to dry the berries which will keep them fresher longer. I then parse the berries into reusable serving containers. I line the bottom of each container with a paper towel to help absorb residual moisture

2. Hang Nail Relief